Happy Monday! Only four days left this week  and I am going to be counting down till that blessed Saturday when I can go back to the Co-Op and get more veggies for a fraction of the price of a major grocery store. Even though the last time I was at the  co-op was 2 weeks ago we still have some stragglers hiding in the back of the fridge. What are you suppose to do with those straggler fruits? Sometimes I am so at a loss they get fed to the puppies  when they are too soft for my liking.  Not last night though I had a revelation a few weeks ago and when my sweet tooth struck with a vengeance.  This sweet tooth met the apples that have been rolling around the bottom drawer of our fridge to make the most delightful apple crisp.

Really the star of the show is the crust. The Apples were delicious, they were thinly sliced and mixed with one key lime, 3 tsp sugar and a hefty amount of cinnamon.

But the crust I could eat raw for days and would probably taste well as an Elephant ear. I started with 1 cup of  Pamela’s Gluten Free Flour mixture.

 

 Then I added 2 Tbsp of Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter and a dash of salt.

 I then mixed this with my fingers until there were little flour covered almond butter nuggets filling the bowl. I then mixed enough water into the dough so it could easily be rolled into a ball then  using my rolling-pin I rolled it into a flat round big enough to be placed in a small ramekin, then repeated this to the second ball.

I then shaped the dough to fit the ramekins and backed at too hot for approx. 15 minutes.  Really it did end up being too hot and got well done

I then layered the apples and topped with crumble.

I again baked it at too hot and turned out a well done pie, but it was delicious. The crust has such an interesting taste it almost reminds me of honey nut Cheerios though with a stronger smokier flavor.  The recipe for the Almond butter can be found on Edible Perspective’s blog and I would recommend trying it out. Since we I made this in August we have not eaten any store-bought nut butters.

I hope everyone has had a fabulous Monday and continue to have a  great  week.

Cinnamon, Sugar and Lime Juice

Penny Lane

”Midnight

