{source}

I just ate dinner and I am ready to dig through the kitchen to find something that will subdue this lion that is trying to scratch its way through my stomach.  What am I to do?  Did I hears someone say chocolate? I think that is a great Idea!  How about Black Bean Brownies?  Really you agree, well I love you! <that is actually I would have with myself:).

To tame this wild beast I made Black Bean Brownies. I had first heard about these in December from a Gluten Free Magazine we were once subscribed to and was very curious since I love to put odd things in my meals to up the veggie or protein count.  When I saw  this

 {source}

For a considerable discount at Borders a few years ago I  snatched it up and we ate veggie filled food for months. I think my favorite was the banana bread with cauliflower and peanut butter on top. Love I tell you.  So after at first being apprehensive about putting black beans and chocolate together I threw caution to the wind when I needed one more treat for my co-workers for their Christmas goody plates.  Of course I tried one before they were sent home with them and I fell in love. So in love that I made them for the Christmas party the same night.

I picked the recipe up here, because it didn’t require flour. If you did want to use flour there are many recipes you can find online by searching black bean brownies.

Ingredients

  • 1 (15.5 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee (optional)
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips (optional)

And don’t forget to pre heat your oven like I did. It needs to be set to 350 degrees. 

I started at the top of the list and worked my way down.

In went the black beans.

Then the remaining ingredients.

Then turn the processor on and blend it all together till it’s a nice smooth chocolate smoothie consistency.

I then poured it into the pre greased baking dish and and sprinkled with Chocolate flakes

I didn’t have chocolate chips so I used the Hot Chocolate flakes from Fresh and Easy

I would recommend that you use chocolate chips it added a moisture to the brownies that this batch seemed to be missing. I recall last time I also put more cocoa powder in and gave it a richer flavor. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t good, because it was.

 

Mmmm still tasty and it certainly tamed that lion trying to claw its way outta my belly and I know I was able to get a little more protein in me today.  Wooo hooo!  That is a goal I don’t often conquer, but yet I try to If I can get it in the form of chocolate all the better for me;).

Wishing you a rich chocolatey Monday,

Penny Lane

